AI Tools Categories By Industry Tech Comparisons Blog Submit a Tool Try XAIWebsites →
Home / Tech / Claude Haiku 5.5
Released 7 October 2026

Claude Haiku 5.5: A Tenth of the Price, With One Catch

Anthropic’s cheapest model now costs $0.10 per million input tokens — identical to OpenAI’s GPT-6 Luna. Here is what is confirmed, what the long-context rule does to the price, and who should switch.

$0.10input / 1M tokens
$0.50output / 1M tokens
90%cheaper than Haiku 4.5
100ktokens, then 5× the rate

Verified against Anthropic’s launch post and pricing documentation on 21 October 2026.

Short answer

Claude Haiku 5.5, released 7 October 2026, costs $0.10 per million input tokens and $0.50 per million output tokens for prompts up to 100,000 tokens — 90% less than Claude Haiku 4.5 ($1 and $5). It is available on the Claude Platform, AWS, Google Cloud and Azure as claude-haiku-5-5.

The catch: above 100,000 tokens the rates rise to $0.50 input and $2.50 output, and Haiku 5.5 is the stated exception to the flat-price 1M-token window on Claude 4.6-and-later models. At short context it ties OpenAI’s GPT-6 Luna to the cent.

Claude Haiku 5.5 at a glance

ItemConfirmed by Anthropic
Released7 October 2026
API model IDclaude-haiku-5-5
Available onClaude Platform, Amazon Web Services, Google Cloud, Microsoft Azure
Positioning“Fastest model to date”; high-volume, cost-sensitive work and subagents
NewFirst Haiku-class model with an adjustable effort setting
Context windowNot stated in the launch post

Pricing: the headline and the catch

Per million tokens, from Anthropic’s pricing documentation:

RatePrompt up to 100k tokensPrompt over 100k tokensHaiku 4.5
Output$0.50$2.50$5.00
Cache read$0.01$0.05$0.10
Cache write (5 min)$0.125$0.625$1.25
Batch input / output$0.05 / $0.25$0.25 / $1.25$0.50 / $2.50

The headline: for prompts up to 100,000 tokens, Haiku 5.5 is a tenth of the price of Haiku 4.5. The catch: past 100,000 tokens every rate is multiplied by five, and Haiku 5.5 is the stated exception to Anthropic’s rule that Claude 4.6-and-later models include the 1M-token window at one flat price. If your workload is short prompts — classification, routing, extraction, short summaries — you get the full discount. If you feed it long documents, price the long tier, not the headline.

It now ties GPT-6 Luna. OpenAI’s budget model is $0.10 input and $0.50 output. Haiku 5.5 matches it to the cent at short context, so price no longer separates the two budget tiers — accuracy, latency and how each handles your specific task do. Compare them in our AI API cost calculator.

What Anthropic says it is for

Anthropic describes Haiku 5.5 as built for high-volume, cost-sensitive tasks: summaries, compaction, database queries and classification, and as a subagent that does the cheap, repetitive work while a larger model plans. That subagent pattern is where a model at this price changes the economics — a large model decides what to do once, and a swarm of Haiku calls does it thousands of times.

It is also the first Haiku with an adjustable effort setting, which lets you trade a little cost and latency for more reasoning on harder inputs without moving up a tier.

Benchmarks (reported by Anthropic)

These are Anthropic’s own numbers from its launch post. We have not reproduced them, and vendor-reported benchmarks are best read as a reason to test, not a result.

BenchmarkHaiku 5.5 (Anthropic-reported)
Humanity’s Last Exam45.9% without tools, 57.4% with tools
OSWorld 2.1 (offline subset)72.4%
Terminal-Bench 4.039.2%

Should you switch?

Whatever you choose, run 30 to 50 real examples from your own workload through each candidate several times and record quality, latency and total cost together. That afternoon of testing settles the question better than any benchmark table, including the ones above.

Bottom line

Haiku 5.5 makes Anthropic’s budget tier a tenth of what it was and ties OpenAI’s on price. For short-prompt, high-volume work, it is worth testing this week.

Price is now a tie at the budget tier, so the deciding factors are accuracy on your task, latency, and how long your prompts really are. Test, do not assume.

Editor’s Choice

AI that is already priced in

Not every AI decision needs a spreadsheet. XAIWebsites generates your complete business website — copy, layout, mobile version and a downloadable site (managed hosting optional) — from a short questionnaire. $199 one-time, and you preview it before you pay.

Preview Your Website Free ★★★★½ 4.9/5 — our Editor’s Choice AI website builder

Frequently asked questions

When was Claude Haiku 5.5 released?

Anthropic released Claude Haiku 5.5 on 7 October 2026. The API model ID is claude-haiku-5-5, and it is available on the Claude Platform, Amazon Web Services, Google Cloud and Microsoft Azure.

How much does Claude Haiku 5.5 cost?

For prompts up to 100,000 tokens: $0.10 per million input tokens and $0.50 per million output tokens, with cache reads at $0.01 and 5-minute cache writes at $0.125. For prompts over 100,000 tokens: $0.50 input and $2.50 output. Batch processing is half of standard rates.

How much cheaper is Haiku 5.5 than Haiku 4.5?

Haiku 4.5 costs $1 input and $5 output. For prompts up to 100,000 tokens, Haiku 5.5 is 90% cheaper on both. Above 100,000 tokens it is 50% cheaper. (Anthropic's launch copy also uses a 75% figure; the 90% and 50% numbers are simply the price ratios from its own table.)

Is Claude Haiku 5.5 cheaper than GPT-6 Luna?

No — they are priced identically at $0.10 input and $0.50 output per million tokens, matching on cached input too ($0.01). The difference is the long-context rule: Haiku 5.5 rises to $0.50 / $2.50 above 100,000 tokens. Since price is a tie for short prompts, choose on accuracy and latency for your own task.

What is Claude Haiku 5.5 good for?

Anthropic positions it for high-volume, cost-sensitive work: summaries, compaction, database queries and classification, and as a subagent alongside larger models. It is also the first Haiku-class model with an adjustable effort setting.

Does Haiku 5.5 have a 1M-token context window?

Not at a flat price. Anthropic's pricing page says Claude 4.6 and later models, with Haiku 5.5 as the stated exception, include the full 1M-token window at standard pricing. Haiku 5.5 instead has a two-tier price that steps up after 100,000 tokens. Anthropic's launch post does not state a context-window size.

Should I switch from Haiku 4.5 to Haiku 5.5?

If your prompts are under 100,000 tokens, the price cut alone makes it worth testing: run 30 to 50 real examples through both and compare quality, latency and cost. Do not switch blind — price falling by a factor of ten says nothing about whether accuracy on your task held.

Sources

Figures on this page come from Anthropic’s own pages, read on 21 October 2026. Pricing changes without much notice — confirm before budgeting.

Published 21 October 2026. Claude Haiku 5.5 was released on 7 October 2026. Prices change — check Anthropic’s own pages before budgeting. See our methodology.

Editor’s Choice: build your business website with XAIWebsites

Preview Your Website Free